The “Sally Gap Year” is due to commence

sally5.jpgHi all

I’m finally due to leave on June 18th. I am frantically decorating and will do a mini UK tour before I go, in between obtaining visa’s etc. Waiting for the rucksack to arrive before I make the difficult female decision of what is a “must have” and what goes back in to the wardrobe. Not looking forward to that I can tell you. Better check up on Malaria and my vaccinations although I’m more or less up to date. No more needles for me.

Hopefully the Irish will understand the play on words in the title – if not then you’re just not damn Irish.

The intention is to update the blog as often as possible so please do bookmark.

All are welcome to visit etc but in order to do that you need to know my schedule so here it is below, it’s not set in stone as I can change the ticket but these are the rough indications. Due to family illness I had to delay and miss out Nepal as June is not the right time to go. Everest will just have to wait for me !!

18th June 2007 – Depart UK – Yikes !!

19th-26th June – Hong Kong – looking forward to catching up with everyone and their expanding broods. Feels a bit cheeky going there first but that’s just the way the flights worked out. Also get 1 day for a witches and Totty Towers reunion. Catherine – Ali is standing in for you so we’ve said she must be extremely well spoken and provide great wine !! For all who are still there please let me know your availability so I can catch up.

26th June – Bangkok and north to Chiang Mai – the real traveling begins

2nd July – Laos

5th July – Vietnam – Hanoi down to Saigon

1st August – Cambodia

10th August – Back to Thailand and if all is on schedule and the weather is good I’ll head over to Krabi to relax

21st August – Borneo – Off to climb the mountain and see the Orang Utans – Julie, Kat any suggestions welcome. Mandy let me know if you still want to meet here.

17th September – Australia – Sydney / Canberra – Wendy I’m keen to go to Gold Coast or somewhere if you are. Beccy will hope to celebrate with you and Ian and catch up with Dave in Sydney at some point.

27th September – New Zealand – Intending to do a full trip on North and South Islands and as England haven’t a hope of winning the rugby world cup will hope the All Blacks do well so everyone will be in a great mood. By the way I know it’s being held in Europe but it’s still huge there.

13th November – Easter Island

17th November – Chile

17th December – Patagonia

31st December – Argentina

30th January 2008 – Bolivia

28th February – Galapagos

14th March – Columbia – Catherine could you send me Elspeth’s contacts

13th April – Mexico – Alison could you send me your contact

12th May – Cuba

11th June – Home

As South America will probably vary I will either visit Central America or come home earlier if I’ve had enough.

Not long to go now so please do keep in touch and you can always email me at sallydonohoe@yahoo.co.uk

Take care

Sally x

22 Responses to “The “Sally Gap Year” is due to commence”

  1. Dan Homolka Says:

    Good Luck Sally!

    Keep up the updates… you know we all want to do the same as you 🙂

    Dan.

  2. Wickie Ning Says:

    Ah chick good luck hope it all goes well. Not sure if you’ve heard but Ellie had a baby girl yesterday 81b 14oz OUCH!!

    Take it easy and look forward to hearing about your travels……
    Send me a photo of any geckos you spot along the way.

    With love
    Nickie
    x

  3. Meike Chabowski Says:

    Hey – didn´t see Germany on your list 🙂 – KIDDING!! Hope to read LOTS of news about your great travel – good luck, much fun, and most important: enjoy it!! Talk soon – Meike

  4. Steve G Says:

    Good luck. Send me a pic from the Galapagos – always wanted to go.
    Seeya x

  5. Carole Hamel Says:

    Sally, you’re a trouper. What an adventure, sounds like a blast. Don’t see Rhode Island in there, then again, don’t blame you!!
    Be careful, have fun.

  6. Nikki H Says:

    Way to go girl!!!

    Shame about the delay and missing Everest – that would have been one awesome feat. Keep blogging whenever you can with lots of pics too.

    Lots of love,
    Nik (& Millsy)
    x

  7. Charlie Duffy Says:

    Hello,

    Have an amazing time, I’ll be thinking of you and I am very jealous – sorry you didn’t get to Microsoft again and didn’t get the chance to sign in oin a different name like last time!!

    Looking forward to hearing about the fantastic things you’ll see and do.

    Love
    Charlie
    xxx

  8. Jon Ervine Says:

    Good luck with the trip (and keeping this up to date whilst you’re travelling…). I’ve been transferred out to Hong Kong at the moment too – my advice is to bring an umbrella – it’s hot, it’s humid, and it can pour down at a moments notice. If you want to catch up whilst you’re here, let me know.

    Jon

  9. Mark H Says:

    Hi Sally,

    Good luck and all the best with your trip, sounds fantastic – but I do not see South Africa there!!!
    Do not foget us little people who have to work for a living!!!
    Enjoy
    Mark

  10. Denise Hand Says:

    Hi Sally

    Glad you are prepared for your trip……….looking at your itinerary – its pretty busy and you get to visit loads of interesting places !! Have a great time and I look forward to reading about your travels – I am sure I will be very jealous. If you meet any hunky men on your travels remember I am not adverse to a marriage of convenience !!!

    D

  11. Dave Says:

    Hi Sally,
    Good luck for the 18th hope all gos well in Hong Hong
    Check out my web site as Iv added your blog and picture as i want to build a book of your tour for a permanet Keep sake
    For when you get home
    Best Regards,

    Couson D

  12. Lorraine Says:

    Hi Sally,
    Can’t believe you’ll finally going! Be sure to look after yourself and don’t talk to any strange men!
    Look forward to reading about about your travels.

    Take good care now little one!!

    Loz xxx

  13. Owain Says:

    Make sure you keep posting lots of pics to help while away the hours on conference calls!

    Take care.

  14. Geri Says:

    Have a great time, I know you will, can’t wait to read all about your mini adventures…..as you make your way across the globe.

    Just remember to come back at some point….

    take care

    Geri x

  15. Dave Says:

    Sally were are you ,
    Want to know.
    Coson D

  16. Ellie Says:

    YO Musty!!!!

    Gutted we didn’t get to see you before you left……We hope that you have a fab time and that you keep in touch! I’ve sent you some piccies of Megan to your mailbox so that at least you’ll get to see her while she’s still a littleun…….well Kinda – 8lb 14oz is not that little to start with eh, but she’s very cute!

    Take care of yourself and stay safe………………….Enjoy your dream

    Lots of love & Hugs

    Els (& Ed & Megs)
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  17. Dave Says:

    Brilliant blog kid, (havent read it all properly yet but i will be getting straght back to it after i,v sent this email), keep sending the updates need pictures for your web pages.
    I will try to better the page links as the book progresses.
    Sounds Like your having a lot of fun

    David +++

  18. sallyd Says:

    thanks Dave

  19. Dave Says:

    Got the thailand blog i havent read it yet as i,v just finished work and havent had me tea yet (something form Tescos in a microwavable dish called curry) but i will print a copy off for later and catch up on all the nics and nags. Im have’n trouble loading the pictures at the moment, cant seam to get them to go were i want but will work on this later as well.
    Dont let this put you off sending more pictures as i can build pages with pictures only i think??
    Einstiens famus last words, as you can proberly tell by my spelling that the beers starting to kick in so i will say when lotus flower flot on water always make sure lifeboy near by.
    David ++++++

  20. Dave Says:

    P.S Old Cockney proberb

    D

  21. Dave Says:

    Got the blog, am on a bit of a mission at the moment.
    I will read and load it up some time this week.
    It looks bril…. got to go, I am very behind scedue

    cus D ++++++++++++

  22. lil sis Says:

    sounds like you are having an amazing time!
    enjoyed reading about your days
    have fun!
    loads of love,
    chelle, pete + kids
    xxxxxxxx

Leave a comment